Bach’s Guitar.


J. S. Bach:

  • Works for Guitar.

This double CD recording brings together all the Bach recordings ever made by German guitarist Tilman Hoppstock; we get to listen to the following works:

Bach, J S:

  • Lute Suites Nos. 1-4, BWV995-997 & 1006a
  • Chaconne-Tombeau (‘Christ lag in Todesbanden’) from Partita BWV1004
  • Partita No. 1 in B flat major, BWV825
  • Fantasia & Fugue in C minor, BWV906
  • Fantasia & Fugue in A minor, BWV904
  • Guitar duo, live recording
  • Trio Sonata No. 5 in C major, BWV529
  • Violin Sonata in G minor, BWV1020
  • Duo Violoncello piccolo & Gitarre

Performed by Tilman Hoppstock, guitar.

Mr. Hoppstock has achieved a milestone in seeing all his recordings during the past 22 years accumulated in a single CD album. (Photo at left column)

I always like to explore what the performer himself says about his own interpretations: (Translated from the German, as follows).

“I was delighted … that all these are productions made over the course of 22 years between 1979 and 2001 . Thus, on the one hand, this double CD introduces the manifold possibilities of interpreting Bach‘s works on the guitar, but also, on the other hand, opens up … the view onto different interpretative approaches from various phases of my artistic development and forms, not least, a compendium of my intensive occupation with the works of Johann Sebastian Bach over many years.”

Here is the Bach: Clavier Partita No 1, ‘Sarabande’, adapted for guitar and performed by Tilman Hoppstock:



And next, here is Tilman Hoppstock + the Duo Gruber-Maklar in Piazzolla’s amazing piece titled “Libertango



This is so great!


Tags: Tilman Hoppstock, Guitar, Johann Sebastian Bach