Concert from Berlin.

The founding of the Berliner Philharmoniker on the first of May, 1882 is celebrated annually with a concert in a European city of cultural significance. In 2014 the Europakonzert took place in Berlin.

This concert was conducted by a man who has been associated with the Berliner Philharmoniker for 50 years. His name: Daniel Barenboim.

This DVD features the following music:


  • Falstaff – Symphonic Study in C minor, Op. 68

Otto Nicolai:

Piotr Tchaikovsky:

  • Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64

Performed by the Berliner Philharmoniker, Daniel Barenboim conducting.

Otto Nicolai’s The Merry Wives of Windsor is based on William Shakespeare’s comedy of the same name, and its lively overture has long since secured a place on the concert stage. Also inspired by a Shakespearean comedy hero is Edward Elgar’s symphonic study, “Falstaff”.

The concert program then moves from comedy to the tragic twists of fate: the Fifth Symphony of Piotr Tchaikovsky is characterized by a somber main theme, which symbolized for the composer a complete resignation to his fate.

The concert also celebrates a number of other anniversaries that include the 50th anniversary of Barenboim’s conducting debut with the orchestra, the opening of the current concert hall, and the 25th anniversary of the ending of the Berlin Wall.

Here are the Berliner Philharmoniker in Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5, from the Europakonzert 2014, Mr. Barenboim conducting:



And next, here is Mr. Barenboim leading Otto Nicolai’s “The Merry Wives of Windsor” Overture:



Finally, here is Daniel Barenboim with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, opening the 1997 season at Carnegie Hall in this gorgeously performed dedication to the recently deceased Sir Georg Solti. Solti was the previous music director of the CSO for many years:



Tags: Daniel Barenboim, Elgar, Tchaikovsky, Otto Nicolai, Falstaff, Europakonzert 2014