McDermott Plays Haydn.



  • Sonatas and Concertos.

This new recording of Haydn’s two great piano concertos is joined with performances of five of Haydn’s finest piano sonatas, in brilliant playing by the American pianist Anne-Marie McDermott.

The specific pieces are:

Joseph Haydn:

  • Piano Sonata No. 38 in F major, Hob.XVI:23
  • Piano Sonata No. 54 in G major, Hob.XVI:40
  • Piano Sonata No. 60 in C major, Hob.XVI:50
  • Piano Sonata No. 62 in E flat major, Hob.XVI:52
  • Piano Sonata No. 33 in C minor, Hob.XVI:20

Keyboard Concerto No. 4 in G major, Hob.XVIII:4, with Cadenzas by Charles Wuorinen, and the accompaniment of the Odense Symphony Orchestra, Scott Yoo conducting.

All performed by Anne-Marie McDermott, piano.

The Haydn G – major Piano Concerto features cadenzas composed specifically for this recording by the leading American composer, Charles Wuorinen.

Mr. Wuorinen wrote:

“I’ve long admired Anne-Marie McDermott’s unsurpassed performances of Haydn. Her understanding of his music is superb, and her playing of it so apt and expressive that I could not resist her invitation to provide cadenzas for one of Haydn’s concerti. It was a joy to write them, and reproducing my own thoughts in the language of this ancient composer was exhilarating. It goes without saying that their realization in sound is exactly what I had intended.”

Here is Anne-Marie McDermott performing the first movement of Haydn’s Piano Sonata in C Major:



And next, here is an interesting master class led by pianist Anne-Marie McDermott, as she shares her extensive knowledge of the chamber music repertoire with students from the Curtis Institute, the Juilliard School, and the Manhattan School of Music:



Tags: Anne-Marie McDermott, Joseph Haydn, Concertos, Piano Sonatas, Charles Wuorinen