Dvorak’s “American” Quartet.



Performed by the Pavel Haas Quartet

“I’m satisfied. It went quickly… ”

That is what Antonín Dvořák jotted down at the end of the sketch for his String Quartet Op. 96. The work, one of the most beautiful quartet pieces in theliterature, originated in America soon after the “New World” Symphony.

The “American” quartet, and, perhaps to an even greater extent, the subsequent quartet, Op. 106, the first composition Dvořák created after his return from America, are a heartfelt matter for the youthful Pavel Haas Quartet.

The most popular Dvořák’s chamber repertoire performed by one of the world’s most exciting string quartets.

BBC Music Magazine wrote the following:

“Throughout, their understanding of the musical argument is exemplary…at every stage the performers respond with both passion and a clear feeling for musical line…In truth, there are so many details that delight the ear it would be almost impossible to list the all”

Here is the String Quartet No. 13 in F major, Op. 96, B. 179 “American” by Antonin Dvorak: I. Allegro ma non troppo:

And next, Watch the Pavel Haas Quartet playing Smetana in a rehearsal:


Tags: Dvorak, Pavel Haas Quartet, American Quartet,
String Quartet No. 13 in G major Op. 106, String Quartet No. 12 in F major