Miah Persson.

Miah Persson:

  • “Sempre libera”

On her latest recording, singer Miah Persson ventures into the fields of bel canto, opéra lyrique and verismo in the company of Daniel Harding and the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra.

Ms. Persson entertains us with the following works:


  • Eccomi in lieta vesta…Oh! quante volte (from I Capuleti e I Montecchi)


  • Je dis que rien ne m’épouvante (from Carmen)
  • Carmen: Entr’acte to Act III (Intermezzo)


  • Viens, Mallika…Sous le dôme épais (from Lakmé), with Katarina Karnéus (mezzo)


  • Quel guardo il cavaliere (from Don Pasquale)


  • Ah! Je ris de me voir (from Faust)
  • Ah! Je veux vivre dans ce rêve (from Roméo et Juliette)


  • Le jour sous le soleil beni (from Madame Chrysanthème)


  • Ombra leggiera (from Dinorah)



  • Quando me’n vo (from La Bohème)
  • O mio babbino caro (from Gianni Schicchi)


  • È strano! è strano!…Ah! fors è lui…Sempre libera (from La Traviata), with Andrew Staples (tenor)

Performed by Miah Persson, soprano, with the Sveriges Radios Symfoniorkester, Daniel Harding conducting.

This collection exposes the listener to range of characters that is wide, from a teenage Juliet, eager to live life to the full in Gounod’s Je veux vivre, to Verdi’s Violetta, a courtesan at the height of her powers, who in her scene and aria È strano tries to convince herself that her freedom is more valuable than love.

The program includes some of the emotional high points in the entire opera literature, including both well-known and lesser – known works.

Here is Miah Persson singing a selection from Mozart’s Don Giovanni:


And next, here she is in Act II of Der Rosenkavalier, with Angelika Kirchschlager (Octavian) and Miah Persson as Sophie:


Tags: Miah Persson, Mozart, Strauss, “Sempre libera”, Bellini, Bizet, Gounod