Ancient Sounds

  Harmonische Freude.

This recording, titled “Harmonische Freude”, features chamber music by Johann Sebastian Bach and his extended circle, played on authentic period instruments by Austral Harmony.

Taking its name from an early collection of Australian poetry, the Australian ensemble presents innovatively – designed programs.

We hear the following:

Bach, J S:


  • Nun freut euch liebe Christen g’mein, HoWV X.17
  • Sonata for Oboe & b.c., HoWV XI.1


Krebs, J L:

  • Fantasia
  • Praeambulum supra ‘Jesu, meine Freude’
  • Chorale Prelude ‘Jesu, meine Freude’
  • Chorale Prelude: Nun freut euch liebe Christen gmein

Here is some music from these old times:

Prelude from Partita No.3 BWV1006 by J.S. Bach performed on the Mandolin:  


And next, here is the NHS Chamber Orchestra performing Bach/Stokowski’s “Aria”