Yo Yo Ma Performs Strauss

This is an interesting collection of music, all conducted by Mariss Jansons. Have a look at the contents:

Carnival Overture, Op. 92
Symphony No. 8 in G major, Op. 88

Danza Latinamericanas

Don Quichotte: Interlude No. 2

Strauss, R:
Don Quixote, Op. 35

Performed by Yo-Yo Ma (cello), Wen Xiao Zheng (viola) and Anton Barakhovsky (violin), with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, Mariss Jansons conducting.


As an artist in residence with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, American cellist Yo-Yo Ma had the opportunity to do what is perhaps the second thing he loves the most after playing: sharing his love of music with others.

During his residency, he transformed himself from sensitive teacher to inimitable Bach interpreter to first cello of a major symphony orchestra.

Yo-Yo Ma doesn’t fade away into the music, nor does he take a worshipful attitude towards the pieces he performs. From the moment he walks onto the stage, he exudes charisma that immediately confirms his exceptional status as the ‘best cellist in the world’.

With its ten variations on a theme of knightly character for full orchestra, Richard Strauss’ tone poem ‘Don Quixote’ not only depicts the colorful adventures of Cervantes’ hero, but also functions as a virtuoso display of glorious solo melodies embedded in stunning orchestral passages. It is, in a way, a second Strauss cello concerto.

Joining ‘the Don’ later in this program is a viola solo that personifies the faithful Sancho Panza and is played by Wen Xiao Zheng.

Here is Yo Yo Ma, performing the second movement from Richard Strauss’ Don Quixote:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *