Dragon Quartet Performs Schubert and Dvorak


String Quartet No. 12 in F major, Op. 96 ‘American’


String Quartet No. 14 in D minor, D810 ‘Death and the Maiden’

Performed by the Dragon Quartet

The Dragon String Quartet is an ensemble that was formed in 2012 of four celebrated, young Chinese musicians: first violinist Ning Feng, second violinist Wang Xiaomao, violist Zheng Wenxiao and cellist Qin Liwei. Ning Feng and Qin Liwei, both internationally established Chinese soloists, came up with the idea of forming a string quartet after a series of concerts that brought them together.

Wang Xiaomao is concertmaster of China National Ballet Orchestra, Zheng Wenxiao is Principal Viola of Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra (Symphonie orchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks).

The Dragon String Quartet performs around the world regularly, introducing the masterworks of string quartet to the audiences, rediscovering rarely performed but outstanding pieces, and promoting contemporary works especially the great pieces created by Chinese composers.

Here is Schubert’s Death and the Maiden quartet:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *