Beethoven Triple Concerto

Beethoven: Symphony No. 5  and Triple Concerto


Triple Concerto for Piano, Violin, and Cello in C major, Op. 56, performed by Isabelle Faust (violin), Jean-Guihen Queyras (violoncello) and Martin Helmchen (piano)

Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67

Supported by the Gewandhausorchester, Herbert Blomstedt conducting.

More than 200 years after its premiere at the Gewandhaus in Leipzig, Isabelle Faust, Jean-Guihen Queyras and Martin Helmchen have jointly mastered the artistic challenge of Beethoven’s gemstone. Under Herbert Blomstedt’s sensitive direction, the soloists unite chamber musical intimacy together with virtuoso sophistication – and prove once again that the Triple Concerto is an underestimated, much too rarely programmed masterpiece.

With the composer’s 5th Symphony, Blomstedt succeeds in achieving an entirely new perspective of this work. In the culmination of his three-year, intensive reenactment of Beethoven’s world, the impressive sound that characterizes this conductor is heralded by transparency rather than showmanship, relevance instead of pathos, and tenderness in place of sentimentality.

Here is just a section of the amazing Tripe Concerto:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *