DVD of the Month: Frank Zimmermann Plays Bach

DVD of the Month for October, 2017:

Frank Peter Zimmermann Plays Mozart and Bach

Bach, J S:
Sonatas for Violin & Harpsichord Nos. 1-6, BWV1014-1019, with Enrico Pace (piano)

Violin Concerto No. 3 in G major, K216, with the Berliner Philharmoniker, Bernard Haitink conducting.

Violin Concerto No. 5 in A major, K219 ‘Turkish’, with the Berliner Philharmoniker, Bernard Haitink conducting.

Bonus Film: Frank Peter Zimmermann – Bach and Me

1. Working with Bach 4:58
2. The Stradivarius (1711) 1:46
3. Bach: Sonata in E major – IV. Allegro 3:37
4. Passing on Musical Passion 5:31
5. Sonata in C minor – I. Largo 4:36
6. Sonata in C minor – IV. Allegro 4:20
7. In Paris with the String Trio 5:23
8. Bach: Sonata in F minor – II. Allegro 3:59
9. The Depth of the Music 1:25
10. Bach: Sonata in F minor – III. Adagio 4:56
12. Playing Sibelius in Copenhagen 5:55
13. Sibelius: Violin Concerto in D minor 4:56
14. Life as an Artist 4:57
15. Sonata in G major – V. Allegro 3:01
16. Credits 0:40
Directed by Dorothee Binding & Benedict Mirow

All performed by Frank Peter Zimmermann (violin)

Violinist Frank Peter Zimmermann is one of the world’s top instrumentalists. His recordings are acclaimed by both the press and audience and have already received countless awards, such as the ECHO Klassik.

He performs Mozart’s Violin Concertos Nos. 3 G major and number 5 In A-major with the Berliner Philharmoniker under the baton of Bernard Haitink. Accompanied by Enrico Pace, he plays Johann Sebastian Bach’s unrivalled violin sonatas for violin and piano.

Here is Mr. Zimmermann, performing the music of Bach:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *