Evgeny Kissin Performs Beethoven

In this new recording, we have the opportunity to listen to the following:

Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 3 in C major, Op. 2 No. 3

1. Allegro con brio

2. Adagio

3. Scherzo (Allegro)

4. Allegro assai

Beethoven: Variations (32) on an Original Theme in C minor, WoO 80

Thema. Allegretto

Var. 1

Var. 2

Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 14 in C sharp minor, Op. 27 No. 2 ‘Moonlight’

1. Adagio sostenuto

2. Allegretto

3. Presto agitato

Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 23 in F minor, Op. 57 ‘Appassionata’

1. Allegro assai

2. Andante con moto

3. Allegro ma non troppo

Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 26 in E flat major, Op. 81a ‘Les Adieux’

1. Das Lebewohl (Adagio – Allegro)

2. Abwesenheit (Andante espressivo)

3. Das Wiedersehen (Vivacissimamente)

Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 32 in C minor, Op. 111

1. Maestoso – Allegro con brio ed appassionato

2. Arietta (Adagio molto semplice e cantabile)

All performed by Evgeny Kissin

Selected by the artist himself, this luxurious Beethoven double album represents Kissin’s personal journey with the composer’s solo work over the last decade and includes some of Beethoven’s greatest and best-loved solo piano works such as the “Moonlight” Sonata or the “Appassionata” – most of them never released before.

This album is a first in a series of releases. More reviews to come…

Here is Mr. Kissin in the last movement of the Moonlight Sonata:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *