Schoenbrunn Palace concert

Schoenbrunn 2009 – Summer Night Concert

The Austrian royalty of the past knew how to live: they built this amazing palace outside of Vienna, with all the golden decorations, art, and space fit for a king. And they spent their summers there, while the rest of Austria’s citizens baked in the summer heat. Now… this palace is accessible to citizen and tourist alike, and there are occasional concerts here, as well.

On the 4th of June 2009 the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra treated the Viennese public with a free open-air concert on the grounds of the Schönbrunn Palace

The impressive historical setting of the Schönbrunn Palace and its beautiful baroque gardens, formed a unique backdrop for this Summer Night concert;  150,000 visitors were present in the audience, and the concert was broadcast world-wide in more than 50 countries. This DVD captures this event.

The program was as follows:
Manuel de Falla:

  • Noches en los jardines de Espana


  • El firulete – Tango


  • Serenade No. 13 in G major, K525 ‘Eine kleine Nachtmusik’


  • A Night on the Bare Mountain


  • Valse Triste, Op. 44 No. 1

Strauss, J, II:

  • Tausendundeine Nacht, Op. 346
  • Wiener Blut Waltz, Op. 354

Strauss, Josef:

  • Im Fluge Op. 230 Polka schnell

Wiener Philharmoniker; Daniel Barenboim, conductor

The most substantive work on the program is de Falla’s Nights in the Gardens of Spain, in which Barenboim serves both as piano soloist and conductor.

Delightful DVD…

Tags: Schönbrunn palace, Summer night concert 2009, Vienna Philharmonic, Barenboim

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *