Isabelle Faust

Isabelle Faust: Violin Sonatas & Concertos

This album includes:

  • Beethoven:
  • Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61
  • With the Prague Philharmonia, conducted by Jiří Bělohlávek
  • Schubert, sonata in A-Major


  • Bela Bartok: Sonata for violin and piano number 1
  • Bohuslav Martinu, Violin concerto #2

Isabelle Faust (violin) with Alexander Melnikov, and Ewa Kupiec(piano)

I have previously heard Isabelle Faust perform sonatas and concerti, and I like her playing. I find her performances to be honest, not affected, and with a fine musical style and excellent sensitive phrasing. Ms. Faust offers a natural, vital performance of the Beethoven concerto, and it stands comparison with other, more well-known artists. Ms. Faust has pure intonation and clean technique and her light touch is very satisfying.

Ms. Faust uses cadenzas for the Violin Concerto written by Beethoven for his Piano Concerto, op. 61a, which was based on the violin concerto. And these canenzas offer the listener some lesser known music, which was introduced years ago by violinist Wolfgang Schneiderhan of the Vienna Philharmonic.

Here is Musica Aeterna Ensemble (Novosibirsk Opera and Ballet Theater), playing the Beethoven Violin Concerto in the rehearsal at the Big Hall of the Moscow Conservatory 20-03-2007, with Solo violin – Isabelle Faust, and the orchestra conducted by Teodor Currentzis:


Here is a video with short extracts of Isabelle Faust & Alexander Melnikov recording Beethoven’s complete Sonatas for piano and violin:



Tags: Isabelle Faust, violinist, Beethoven, Schubert, Bartok, Martinu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *