Mozart’s Concerti

Mozart piano Concerti #23 and #19

Austrian conductor Karl Böhm died on August 14, 1981; as such, this recording is quite old, but sometimes old music is still exciting and important.

This recording gives us two wonderful Mozart masterpieces with his concerti numbers 19 and 23. Pianist Maurizio Pollini is sparkling in the F major concerto, and the A major concerto has a terrific, vibrant sense of phrase and beauty. Every musical phrase here seems to speak, and Pollini is given excellent support from Boehm and the Vienna Philharmonic orchestra. There is no sense of haste in the outer movements; everything is beautifully paced for our enjoyment. Good, well-detailed and finely balanced recording make this one of the finest Mozart concerto records available.

Listen particularly to the second movement of the Mozart concerto #23, Andante; it is a Jewell…

Recording was issued on January 25, 2011

Track Listings:

1. Piano Concerto No.23 in A, K.488: Allegro – Cadenza
2. Piano Concerto No.23 in A, K.488: Andante
3. Piano Concerto No.23 in A, K.488: Allegro assai
4. Piano Concerto No.19 in F, K.459: Allegro vivace – Cadenza
5. Piano Concerto No.19 in F, K.459: Allegretto
6. Piano Concerto No.19 in F, K.459: Allegro assai – Cadenza

Here is pianist and conductor Michael Tilson Thomas, talking about this concerto:



And now, here is the Mozart Piano Concerto No. 23-1M with pianist Radu Lupu, and Sándor Végh, conducting the Vienna Philharmonic:



And finally, let’s hear Vladimir Horowitz play the second movement of this great composition by Mozart:



Tags: Mozart piano concerti numbers 19 and 23, Michael Tilson Thomas, Radu Lupu, Vladimir Horowitz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *