Glorious Schubert

Schubert: Quintet in C D956, and ” Quartettsatz” D703


  • String Quintet in C major, D956

with David Watkin (2nd cello)

  • String Quartet No. 12 in C minor (fragment), D703 ‘Quartettsatz’

Performed by the Tokyo String Quartet

Cellist David Watkin, formerly of the Eroica Quartet, joins the Tokyo players in this distinguished reading of Schubert’s ‘Quintet in C’ – the last and perhaps the most haunting of all his chamber works, in which light and shadow, serenity and drama are presented in constant alternation. The program also includes the ‘Quartettsatz’ of 1820 with its fragmentary slow movement.

Tracks on this CD (to be released 11.08.2011) are:
1. Quintet in C Major, D.956: I. Allegro ma non troppo

2. Quintet in C Major, D.956: II. Adagio

3. Quintet in C Major, D.956: III. Scherzo: Presto – Trio: Andante sostenuto

4. Quintet in C Major, D.956: IV. Allegretto

5. Quartet in C Minor, D.703, “Quartettsatz”: I. Allegro


Here is the Schubert Quintet in C, D 956 – 1. Allegro non troppo
Recorded live at the Zagreb International Chamber Music Festival 2008



Tags: Franz Schubert, Quintet in C, Tokyo String Quartet 6. Quartet in C Minor, D.703, “Quartettsatz”: II. Andante

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *