Sergiu Celibidache

“Celibidache Edition – Symphonies”

This is a collection of 14 CD’s for Celibidache fans:


  • Symphonies Nos. 1-9 (complete)


  • Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73
  • Symphony No. 3 in F major, Op. 90
  • Symphony No. 4 in E minor, Op. 98
  • Variations on a theme by Haydn for orchestra, Op. 56a ‘St Anthony Variations’


  • Symphony No. 92 in G major ‘Oxford’
  • Symphony No. 103 in E flat major ‘Drum Roll’
  • Symphony No. 104 in D major ‘London’


  • Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K550


  • Symphony No. 2 in C major, Op. 61
  • Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, Op. 97 ‘Rhenish’
  • Symphony No. 4 in D minor, Op. 120

Performed by the Münchner Philharmoniker, conducted by Sergiu Celibidache

I have recently come to respect the abilities of this legendary conductor, and this collection is indeed a way to have a thorough overview of his interpretations.

One characteristic of  Sergiu Celibidache is his frequent very slow tempi. That can work for some music, such as—perhaps Tchaikovsky or Schumann. However, in Haydn and Beethoven you may find these tempo changes too distracting.

However, you may well gain new insight into several compositions just because the tempi are slower, and you can hear new detail that you have never heard before.

Here is a Celibidache rehearsal of the Prokofiev  Classical Symphony:



Watch now as Celibidache rehearsals and performs a wonderful version of Mozart’s Requiem



Tags: Sergiu Celibidache, Münchner Philharmoniker, Symphonies

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *