Dvorak Masterpieces

Dvorak: Orchestral Masterworks
Live recordings from the “Alte Oper” in Frankfurt, Germany


  • Symphony No. 8 in G major, Op. 88
  • Symphony No. 7 in D minor, Op. 70
  • Symphony No. 9 in E minor, Op. 95 ‘From the New World’
  • Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104

Mischa Maisky (cello)

  • Piano Concerto in G minor, Op. 33

Igor Ardašev (piano)

  • Romance in F minor, Op. 11

Ivan Zenaty (violin)

  • Slavonic Dances Nos. 1-8, Op. 46 Nos. 1-8
  • Slavonic Dances Nos. 9-16, Op. 72 Nos. 1-8

Performed by the Prague Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Petr Altrichter, Jirí Belohlávek and Libor Pešek

These works of the quintessentially Czech composer Antonín Dvorák are, above all, enjoyable and perennial favorites of the Romantic repertoire. The concerts are performed by the Prague Symphony Orchestra and Chorus and the Prague Philharmonic Choir, with three leading Czech conductors on the podium: Petr Altrichter, Jirí Belohlávek and Libor Pešek.

Here is Mischa Maisky in DVORAK’s Cello Concerto


And here’s a different performance of the Symphony #9, the New World Symphony by Antonin Dvorak. Wiener Philharmoniker. Herbert von Karajan, conductor

This is a *huge* collection of Dvorak’s works. You’ll enjoy it…

Tags: Antonin Dvorak, Prague Symphony Orchestra, Petr Altrichter, Jirí Belohlávek, Libor Pešek

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *