Zukerman SFS Rehearsal

Zukerman Rehearsal

On Thursday, January 25, 2012, I attended a wonderful rehearsal of the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra with Mr. Pinchas Zukerman in three roles:

o Violin soloist

o Viola soloist

o Orchestra conductor

This rehearsal showed me again that Mr. Z is still one of the finest musicians around, and from reading the program notes he leads one heck of an active life in bringing music to the millions in these three roles.

The rehearsal began with Mozart’s Adagio in E-Major for violin and Orchestra K. 261, followed by the Rondo in C-Major K. 373. Right from the first 3 notes, I marveled at the amazing sound that Mr. Z was able to deliver from his fine violin. Totally amazing sound, and terrific mozartean phrasing.

Mr. Zukerman left briefly to go and get his viola to perform the next work on this program: the Trauermusik for viola and strings by Paul Hindemith. The title means music of sorrow; and Zukerman showed us his rich, dark, from what I believe is a Guarneri – made viola…

Then followed the violin concerto #3 in G-Major, K. 216. This music was clearly locked for many years in Mr. Z’s fingers and muscles. Yet we heard a performance that was tasteful, charming, and fun.

Following an intermission, Mr. Zukerman was back in his 3rd role, and he conducted the SF symphony in the Symphony #40 by Mozart. He directed the players in a wonderful, sprightly tempo, with fine musical detail.

All in all this was a great enjoyable experience.

Here is Pinchas Zukerman playing the finale of the violin concerto by Max Bruch, with the Israel Philharmonic under Zubin Mehta (2006)


Tags: San Francisco rehearsal, Pinchas Zukerman, Mozart, Hindemith

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *