Chopin: Complete Works for Piano & Orchestra


  • Piano Concerto No. 1 in E minor, Op. 11
  • Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor, Op. 21
  • Variations on Mozart’s ‘La ci darem la mano’ in B flat major, Op. 2
  • Fantasia in A major on Polish Airs, Op. 13
  • Krakowiak – Concert Rondo in F, Op. 14
  • Andante spianato & Grande Polonaise, Op. 22

Performed by pianists Nelson Goerner , Kevin Kenner, and Janusz Olejniczak; with the Orchestra of the 18th Century, conducted by Frans Brüggen

On February 26, 2010 a historic concert took place in Warsaw, Poland, the birthplace of Fryderyk Chopin. During the course of the evening all the works written by this composer for piano with orchestra were performed by the musicians listed above.

The event took place under the auspices of the Fryderyk Chopin Institute, under the direction of film-maker Phil Grabsky, whose cameras were placed among the musicians of the orchestra. All this enabled the full magic of a historic event to be captured in both image and sound on this DVD.

Pianists Nelson Goerner, Kevin Kenner and Janusz Olejniczak, alongside the Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century and Frans Brüggen, performed each of the six works which the young Chopin had composed many years earlier.

Performances of the two famous Concertos, in E minor and F minor, were joined here by the less-famous but notwithstanding highly-attractive works, such as the Variations on ‘Là ci darem la mano’, from Mozart’s ‘Don Giovanni’, and the ‘Fantasy on Polish Airs’. Completing the film are several interviews with the soloists, and with Marc Destrubé, the orchestra’s leader.

Here is the Chopin Piano Concerto No.2 in f minor, Op.21, performed by Gold Medalist of the 1980 Chopin Competition, Dang Thai Son (on an 1849 Erard piano), and Frans Bruggen conducting the Orchestra of the 18th Century, at the 2010 Warsaw gala concert closing the worldwide celebrations of Chopin’s 200th birth anniversary.


I have a great deal of respect and admiration for conductor Frans Bruggen. Here he is directing the J. Haydn: Sinfonia N.64
Click HERE


Tags: Chopin, Frans Bruggen, Works for piano and orchestra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *