Rachmaninoff’s genius

Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 3 & Symphonic Dances

Sergei Rachmaninoff was a master of composing amazingly beautiful music. And this CD features two such compositions. The Piano concerto #3 is one such example: Gorgeous music, with wonderful variety and inventiveness. Likewise the Symphonic Dances are delight for the ear.

This all-Rachmaninoff recording features Music Director Robert Spano leading the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra in Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 3. And Garrick Ohlsson recorded this concerto for the very first time.

  • Rachmaninoff: Symphonic Dances, Op. 45
  • Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Op. 30

It may be hard to identify adequate superlatives for this music: The cadenza in the first movement of the concerto is very impressive. All of the difficult runs and chords that are scrolling all over the keyboard are amazing! Toward the end of the movement, there is – of course – also a good bit of typical Rachmaninoff melancholy.

The Atlanta orchestra also shines in their excellent interpretation of the Symphonic Variations, Op. 45

The tracks on this CD are:

Sergei Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Op. 30

  • I. Allegro ma non tanto
  • II. Intermezzo: Adagio
  • III. Finale: Alla breve

Sergei Rachmaninov: Symphonic Dances, Op. 45

  • I. Non allegro
  • II. Andante con moto (Tempo di valse)
  • III. Lento assai – Allegro vivace – Lento assai – Come prima – Allegro vivace

Here is the Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto no. 3, op. 30 – the AMAZING cadenza from the first movement played by Garrick Ohlsson at Carnegie Hall on 11/5/2011

And here are the Rachmaninov Symphonic Dances, with Simon Rattle, conducting the Berliner Philharmoniker


Tags: Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto no. 3, Symphonic Dances, Atlanta Symphony, Robert Spano, Garrick Ohlsson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *