Moser’s Cello

Johannes Moser, Cello

This CD features three 20th – century Cello Concertos, as played by Johannes Moser. The order of the performances is as follows:

• Martinu Cello concerto
• Hindemith Cello concerto
• Honegger Cello concerto

The individual movements are:

1. Cello Concerto No. 1, H. 196: I. Allegro moderato

2. Cello Concerto No. 1, H. 196: II. Andante moderato

3. Cello Concerto No. 1, H. 196: III. Allegro – Andantino – Tempo I

4. Cello Concerto: I. Massig schnell

5. Cello Concerto: II. Ruhig bewegt – Sehr lebhaft

6. Cello Concerto: III. Marsch: Lebhaft

7. Cello Concerto: I. Andante

8. Cello Concerto: II. Lento

9. Cello Concerto: III. Allegro marcato

The Martinu Cello Concerto No.1 is first on this CD, and it starts out in high spirits, and Moser’s playing and technique are flawless. The interpretation is given with a lot of  polish and tender loving care by both soloist and orchestra.

The Hindemith Cello Concerto of 1940 begins with a march tune in the orchestra which is carried throughout in the first movement. The cello keeps up with the mood and Johannes Moser’s playing couldn’t be better. Next comes the wonderful second movement, followed by final movement which returns with more march-like music.

Finally there is the Honegger Cello Concerto. Honegger was an excellent 20th century composer. While his concerto does not sparkle as much as the Martinu or Hindemith, it is still quite enjoyable.

Here is Cellist Johannes Moser playing the first cello concerto op. 107 by Dmitri Shostakovitch with the Concertgebouw Orchestra under Mariss Jansons


And here is Mr. Moser playing the Schumann concerto:



Tags: Johannes Moser, Cello, Martinu, Honegger, Hindemith

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *