Memorial for New York

A Concert for New York

  • In Remembrance and Renewal – The Tenth Anniversary of the 9/11tragedy

The New York Philharmonic gave “A Concert for New York” to mark the tenth anniversary of the events of 9/11. They chose to perform the Mahler “Resurrection” Symphony as a way to mark the tragic aspects of loss and horror. Yet both the public and the performers needed a way to find some degree of hope for the future. And in this aspect, Mahler’s symphony is also a great vehicle.


  • Symphony No. 2 in C minor ‘Resurrection’

Performed by Dorothea Röschmann (soprano) & Michelle DeYoung (mezzo-soprano), with the New York Philharmonic, conducted by Alan Gilbert

This concert was described as an unforgettable event, a “consistently impressive” performance with “gripping playing”, “magnificent” soloists and an “excellent” chorus (New York Times).

Clearly, there are many very good recordings of this work, including those by Leonard Bernstein, Claudio Abbado, Pierre Boulez and others. Perhaps the reason for the strong power of this performance is the specific day that it commemorates. Everyone involved, the conductor, the players and the live audience (sitting in Avery Fisher Hall and also outside the Lincoln Center), seem to be totally involved by that moment.

The concert starts with a few words by Alan Gilbert. The performance itself is magnificent and very moving. The audience response at the end is overwhelming in a spontaneous way.

I will never forget my first exposure to the Symphony #2 by Gustav Mahler. That first hearing was in London, and it will forever be the most memorable. This particular performance, while different, evoked strong emotions of a time in American history we will never forget.

Here is the New York Philharmonic, performing ‘A Concert for New York’: Mahler’s Symphony No. 2


Now, just for fun, let’s hear how Bernstein did it many years earlier:



And for those of you who want to hear the whole work (~90 minutes), here is Bernstein leading the London symphony Orchestra in 1974:


Tags: Concert for New York, 9/11, New York Philharmonic

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *