Lively Lisitsa

Valentina Lisitsa: Live at the Royal Albert Hall

This is a DVD recording of a concert at the Royal Albert Hall in London, on the 19th of June 2012.

• The pianist is Valentina’s Lisitsa

• Release date of this DVD is August 7, 2012

Valentina Lisitsa is not only one of the fastest-rising stars on the international concert scene, but also probably the single most-watched classical musician, having rapidly overtaken long-established giants of the piano world.
Ms. Lisitsa plays the following selections:


  • Für Elise (Bagatelle in A minor, WoO59)
  • Piano Sonata No. 14 in C sharp minor, Op. 27 No. 2 ‘Moonlight’


  • Nocturne No. 2 in E flat major, Op. 9 No. 2
  • Nocturne No. 13 in C minor, Op. 48 No. 1
  • Nocturne No. 8 in D flat major, Op. 27 No. 2


  • Grande Étude de Paganini, S. 141 No. 3 ‘La Campanella’
  • Un Sospiro from 3 Concert Studies, S144 No. 3
  • Liebestraum, S541 No. 3 (Nocturne in A flat major)


  • Prelude Op. 23 No. 5 in G minor
  • Prelude Op. 32 No. 5 in G major
  • Prelude Op. 32 No. 12 in G sharp minor
  • Prelude Op. 32 No. 10 in B minor
  • Étude-Tableau, Op. 39 No. 6 in A minor


  • Deux poèmes, Op. 32
  • Étude Op. 42 No. 3 in F sharp major ‘La Moustique’

Valentina Lisitsa is quite impressive in this recording, displaying amazing pianistic technique, knocking off astounding pieces as though they had no challenges at all.

Ms. Lisitsa plays with terrific passion. She keeps demonstrating this passion through great playing of the pieces listed above. Her real trademark seems to be effortless speed. The conclusion of Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata is played at a phenomenal speed, yet with sweetness, precision and delicate musicianship.

One member of the press wrote the following:

“This recital disc of short piano pops proves Lisitsa’s technical skill rather than the potential depth or reach of her musicality. She opens, in reckless mood, with Rachmaninov’s Prelude in G Minor, then settles into an elegant Für Elise”

Here is the Paganini-Liszt La Campanella (Beautiful!), as performed by Valentina Lisitsa



And now she plays the Rachmaninoff Etude Op. 39 No. 6


Tags: Valentina Lisitsa, Royal Albert Hall, Beethoven, Liszt, Rachmaninov, Chopin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *