Shostakovich Quartets


  • String Quartets

Dmitri Shostakovich composed 15 symphonies and 15 string quartets; all of these works are characterized by their depth and originality.

The string quartets were Shostakovich’s most personal works. While the composer was buffeted by the Stalinist government, in his quartets he used music to express his deepest and most personal feelings.

This CD provides an excellent overview of Shostakovich’s quartets, spanning from his first efforts in the genre to examples from his late period, where the music’s colors and spirit are filled with a dark melancholy.

The Jerusalem Quartet gives a terrific performance of these works.

This CD has the following works:


  • String Quartet No. 1 in C Major, Op. 49
  • String Quartet No. 4 in D major, Op. 83
  • String Quartet No. 9 in E flat major, Op. 117
  • String Quartet No. 6 in G major, Op. 101
  • String Quartet No. 8 in C minor, Op. 110
  • String Quartet No. 11 in F minor, Op. 122

Performed by the Jerusalem String Quartet

Here is the String Quartet No. 1 in C Major by Shostakovich



And next, here is the Dmitri Shostakovich : String Quartet N° 5, op. 92. As performed by the St. Petersburg String Quartet.


Tags: Shostakovich, String Quartets, Jerusalem Quartet

  1. Gabriel Reply
  2. Gabriel Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *