Emerson String Quartet


  • Emerson String Quartet

In this new CD by the Emerson String Quartet, we hear performances of two string sextets that were composed in the 1890’s: “Souvenir de Florence” by Peter Tchaikovsky, and “Verklärte Nacht” (Transfigured Night) by Arnold Schoenberg.

This is the quartet’s first recording of any work by Tchaikovsky since the 1980’s, and its first ever recording of a piece by Arnold Schoenberg. They are joined on both of these sextets by two frequent collaborators, American violist, Paul Neubauer, and British cellist, Colin Carr.

“Our new album embodies the idea of “journeys” on several levels,” says the quartet’s Eugene Drucker. “The wide spectrum of colors, moods and compositional techniques in Tchaikovsky’s passionate Souvenir de Florence could be a journey from Russia to Italy and back again”.

Arnold Schoenberg’s “Nacht” depicts more of an emotional internal journey from personal anguish and psychological torment to apology, acceptance, forgiveness, and love.

Track Listings:

Tchaikovsky: “Souvenir de Florence”:

1. Allegro con spirito
2. Adagio cantabile e con moto
3. Allegretto moderato
4. Allegro vivace

Arnold Schoenberg:

5. Verklarte Nacht, op 4; a String Sextett for 2 Violins, 2 Violas and 2 Celli

The Emerson String Quartet was founded in 1976. It stands alone in the history of string quartets with an amazing list of achievements and recognitions over three decades.

Here is the Emerson quartet in Schoenberg’s Complete “Verklarte Nacht”:



And next, here they are in Tchaikovsky’s Souvenir de Florence:



Tags: Emerson Quartet, Journeys, Tchaikovsky, Arnold Schoenberg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *