Buchbinder plays Beethoven, Vol. 2

On this new DVD, we get to listen to Rudolf Buchbinder perform the music of Beethoven:

Piano Sonata No. 3 in C major, Op. 2 No. 3
Piano Sonata No. 7 in D major, Op. 10 No. 3
Piano Sonata No. 16 in G major, Op. 31 No. 1
Piano Sonata No. 19 in G minor, Op. 49 No. 1
Piano Sonata No. 24 in F sharp major, Op. 78
Piano Sonata No. 26 in E flat major, Op. 81a ‘Les Adieux’
Piano Sonata No. 28 in A major, Op. 101
Piano Sonata No. 29 in B-flat major, Op. 106 ‘Hammerklavier’
Piano Sonata No. 6 in F major, Op. 10 No. 2


Beethoven’s 32 sonatas reflect his whole development of this amazing man as a human being and a musician, moving from one century into the next, from one style in music in to another.

With the sonatas “Pathétique”, “Moonlight”, “Waldstein”, “Appassionata”, “Hammerklavier” and the final sonata op. 111, the cycle contains some of the most well known piano pieces of all time.

The Salzburg Festival asked pianist Rudolf Buchbinder to perform these works in a series of concerts in 2014. This 2 DVD-Set includes two concerts featuring sonatas Nos. 3, 6, 7, 16, 19, 24, 26, 28 and 29 (“Hammerklavier”).

Here is a brief extract from this DVD:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *