Sokolov Plays Schubert, Beethoven, Brahms

For me, there is an amazing purity and honesty about the playing of Grigory Sokolov. I have to say that I actually dont much care what he is playing, because I already know that I will be thrilled.


On this DVD, we hear Grigory Sokolov as he performed Live at the Berlin Philharmonie. He played the following selections:


  • Piano Sonata No. 29 in B-flat major, Op. 106 ‘Hammerklavier’


  • Intermezzo in B flat minor, Op. 117 No. 2


  • Les tendres plaintes
  • Pièces de Clavecin 1724: Les Tourbillons
  • Les Cyclopes
  • La follette
  • Les Sauvages


  • 4 Impromptus, D899
  • Klavierstücke (3), D946

This completely sold out concert took place on 5 June 2013 in the Philaharmonie Berlin, which is known for its exquisite acoustics.

Here is Grory Sokolov performing the music of Bach:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *